Posted in Free!, Helpful Information, Homeschool Encouragement and Support, Misc., Practical Homeschool Tips, Prayer, Uncategorized

Praying for your homeschool

As the beginning of the school year approaches, local art, drama/theater, science, sports and more classes are forming and opening up to homeschoolers. I hope to get them out to you over the next two weeks! Be on the lookout!

 

But for now, back to today’s post!

 

What’s your reason for homeschooling?

For us, it’s to give our kids a Godly worldview and lay a Biblical foundation for life in them. Sometimes, this “saying” is a lot easier said than done. How quickly I forget the goal- of laying a foundation- and replace it with math, history lessons, learning to write beautifully, exercising and running from this to that, keeping things clean. And my list could go on and on.

In reality, the most important thing I can give my kids is a solid foundation of Jesus and knowing Him. Which starts with PRAYER.

I thought I would share a few prayer resources that I have seen and used in order to pray for my sprouts. Besides the BIBLE being number one!! (that would be funny or not so funny if I left that out, right?) A little google search will turn up tons of results. But here are a few from me.

 

First up: Keeping It Personal With Teri Johnson.

From her “Introduction- Let’s Pray for Our Kids”    I unpacked a “virtue” a day and discussed the daily virtue with my two little nuggets. I wrote about the life changing journey and share my reflection here, with you via email for 31 Days!

At the bottom of the Introduction post, you can fill out the form and then receive an email everyday for 31 Days at the start date of your choice! This is a great series!

 

Second: The original black and white copy of a copy that Teri talks about– I had hanging on my bathroom windowsill and bathroom mirror for a few years! It comes from Bob Hostetler. You can find a pdf document listing just the virtues and verses listed at this website: 31 Virtues to Pray for Your Children . For the technologically minded, there is an app available! Check out 31 Virtues Prayer App. Scroll down to the 3rd topic for information. Available for $0.99.

 

and lastly: One that I have signed up to start on the 23rd of this month!

30 Days of Praying for My Homeschool Challenge

“Join me and fellow homeschooling mothers as we commit to 30 consecutive days of praying bold prayers for our homeschools in the 30 Days of Praying for My Homeschool Challenge. Ladies, get ready because God is about to knock your socks off! We all know the power of prayer…”

This challenge is from August 23, 2016- September 21, 2016. Click on the above link and fill out your information to sign up.

I am looking forward to seeing what God will do this year!

 

 

How about you? Do you have a way, reminder or something to get you back on track and focus on the Lord for your homeschool year?

 

Proverbs 16:3

Commit to the LORD whatever you do, and he will establish your plans.

 

Luke 6:48

They are like a man building a house, who dug down deep and laid the foundation on rock. When a flood came, the torrent struck that house but could not shake it, because it was well built.  

 

Posted by Sarah Lambert, August 18, 2016

2 thoughts on “Praying for your homeschool

  1. Thank-you so much Sarah for this great encouragement and exhortation to pray! It really helps me to know that we are not homeschooling alone, but most importantly that we are side by side in a sense, homeschooling with like-minded Christians who Love our great God and strive to please and honor Him in all that we do, and in how we teach our children! 🙂 Thank-you again dear friend for all that you are doing and how you are touching our lives. Much blessing and Peace as you begin this new homeschool year! In His grip, Susie

Leave a Reply

