Posted in Helpful Information, Homeschool Encouragement and Support, Misc., Practical Homeschool Tips, Uncategorized

A First Post

This evening (7/6/2016), I was trying to write my 1st post. I typed a few words, got a sentence and thought, “Blah, Blah.”

I tried again. A few words, a couple of lines..but blah, blah, blah!

I headed to bed with my mind churning as I lay there. Praying and asking the Lord what I was to write. Because I want to write something; something of value, something of worth, not just empty words. And He answered….

 

You see a few times over the years people have said, “Wow, 6 kids! You must have a lot of patience.” “Sarah, you are so patient. I want to be like you.” “I wish I was like you. I need patience.”

 

Well, folks, just like you- I don’t naturally have patience. You see, you don’t have to “have” IT,  whatever IT may be in order to homeschool. Just like you don’t need to have IT to have children. If I had waited until I was patient, or I was kind, or I was smart or I was (you fill in the blank), I would never have. It is by the grace of God, by Holy Spirit’s filling up daily, by God’s teaching, by the Word’s correcting, by His refinement that makes me what you see. I flop, fail and lack in oh so many ways!

 

BUT I also know that if I were perfect- if I were at that point or place that people sometimes say – if I were just like her- I really wouldn’t be. We don’t and we can’t have it all together, or even most of the way together. It’s not our own doing.

 

So if you are a child of the King, if He’s your Lord and Savior- have trust that He has a plan. If He called you to homeschool, then He’s going to work it out. If He called you to have kids- He’s going to work it out. If He called you to be a husband, wife, mom, dad, teacher, friend, sister, etc. He has what you need daily to do it.

Be faithful and seek Him.

 

If you don’t know Jesus as your own Savior and best friend- I’d love to talk with you about it! Send me an email.

Because all of this makes no sense. And when you see me and my tribe- you’ll think that it’s something I am doing- but it’s not. It’s what Jesus did on the Cross for me, and can do for you too!

 

After I wrote the above words down (at 4 am!), the words and tune to the song, Making Diamonds by Hawk Nelson kept breezing thru:
He’s making diamonds, diamonds                 Making diamonds out of dust                                He is refining in His timing               He’s making diamonds out of us.

 

Hebrews 13: 20-21

May the God of peace, who through the blood of the eternal covenant brought back from the dead our Lord Jesus, that great Shepherd of the sheep, equip you with everything good for doing his will, and may he work in us what is pleasing to him, through Jesus Christ, to whom be glory for ever and ever. Amen. 

 

I pray you have been encouraged to know if He’s called you to this journey of homeschooling, then you can because of Him!

 

Posted by Sarah Lambert on July 16, 2016

12 thoughts on “A First Post

  1. As I read this post in sunny Dominican Republic, it resonates with me, though I am not homeschooling this year. It’s true that God doesn’t call us to “easy”but calls us to deny ourselves, take up our cross and follow Him. Thanks for this reminder that He who calls also equips.

    1. Thanks Jen for “filling in the blank”! Yes, hold to what He has spoken for your family and called you to! I’m excited to hear more from the D.R.!

  2. This is beautiful Sarah. God gives the graces for our duties moment by moment, living in His Presence.

    “In Him, we live and move and have our being.” Acts 17:28

    1. Thank you Theresa. I think that’s a key– moment by moment, living in His Presence. “Walk (live) by the Spirit and you will not gratify the desires of the flesh.” Gal. 5:16— that’s been a verse that I keep hearing.

  3. Thank-you very much Sarah, as this sharing of your heart has been very special to me! You are very dear! Thanks for being who God is making you to be! Much love, 🙂 Susie

Leave a Reply

