Posted in Homeschool Encouragement and Support

Passing the Baton

Dear Fellow Homeschoolers,

Many of you know this has been my last year homeschooling. God has graciously given me the privilege of working with my children at home for the past 19 years.  My youngest will be starting high school this September and I am currently looking for work.  Because I anticipate I will be working full time by the Fall, I will no longer be able to write blog posts for you on a regular basis.

I’ve loved sharing the word of God with you, and I’ve loved sharing events with you on this site!  My hope and prayer is that all I’ve communicated with you has been a blessing and support to you through your homeschool adventure.  For those who have left comments or sent emails, Thank you!   My life has been enriched and blessed by all of you.   Thank you for your friendship, encouragement, and support!  I’ll miss writing to you.

As I move into this new stage of life, I wanted to let you all know about the plans for the Philadelphia Homeschool Blog.  I am happy to announce my friend, Sarah Lambert, has graciously agreed to take on this new responsibility.  I’m excited because she is a woman who loves and fears the Lord, she has a wonderful knack for finding out about new programs and activities around the city, and I believe she will do a wonderful job!  Here’s a little about Sarah:sarahlambert

Sarah Lambert has been living in the City of Brotherly Love since 2001.  A country transplant brought by the Love of the Father and The Hope of the Son, she met her husband through their ministry in the city. They have 6 children ranging from 11 years to 7 months old whom she homeschools at various stages. Sarah enjoys the outdoors, baking, music, and learning about herbs, natural remedies and homeopathic medicine.

Writing this blog has been such a pleasure and privilege, and I’m sure I will miss it, but I look forward to the new plans God has for me.   As I leave you all, it seems best to leave you with God’s Word:

Numbers 6:24-26 “The Lord bless you  and keep you;  the Lord make his face shine on you and be gracious to you; the Lord turn his face toward you and give you peace.”

Proverbs 22:6 “Train up a child in the way he should go; even when he is old he will not depart from it.

Deuteronomy 6:6 –   “These commandments that I give you today are to be on your hearts.  Impress them on your children. Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up.

Sincerely,

Gwen

gwen.silverliningpress@juno.com

Posted by Gwen Fredette on June 26th, 2016

3 thoughts on “Passing the Baton

  1. Dear Gwen,

    I just want to say thank-you for your friendship, and for all of the very valuable information that you have passed on to us, and so many other families. You have truly shared from your heart, and walked with so many of us by sharing your own life experiences, and by encouraging moms who needed a kind word, or a suggestion, or giving them the awareness that they are not alone. As a homeschool mom of 19 years also, you made homeschooling so much more interesting for us, as we looked to you for amazing field trips, and other venues for learning that we would have not known of unless we knew you. God truly works in amazing ways as it is He that brings us all together for His purpose and glory.

    My most difficult years homeschooling was when my husband was stationed in California, in the wealthiest county in the nation, and it was also the least churched in the nation as one percent of the population went to church and a small house cost around a million dollars causing both parents to need to work fulltime which meant that homeschoolers were of the extreme minority. This 1% of church goers, which included religions such as Satanism, Goddess worship, Buddhism, and more, along with all of the denominations, and churches of our area are who made up the 1%. In the area, where we lived, was so rural, that we had to drive an hour in any direction for my daughter to spend time with a friend, and when it came time for my daughter to graduate, we could only access a graduation ceremony two hours away where my daughter who was an accomplished pianist, violinist, and tin whistler was not allowed to play her violin during the ceremony, as it would make the other students feel jealous even though this was the Christian group. It was so hard on her as the daughter of a piano teacher, as I encouraged performance at all cost. My son had to go on a wait list or choose the Pediatrician who was deaf to see a doctor as even doctors couldn’t afford to live there. We chose the deaf Doctor who was very nice and had a sweet dog in her office.

    The difficult times we had in what was a breathtakingly beautiful area, and full of famous people, like George Lucas, Robbin Williams, Huey Lewis, Bill Cosby, and members of the group Santana, and where we never saw any of them, but met people they knew, or went to school with, was a making and molding process for me and my family as we took for granted all that this Philly area had to offer when we were hear for so many years.

    Coming home, and meeting you Gwen, and seeing your enthusiasm and zeal for homeschooling and realizing that we were no longer so alone in homeschooling, was such a gift and a blessing to me and my family. We greatly wish to thank-you for all of your hard work, and know that you will be sorely missed. Moving to a new chapter of life can be hard, but it is what happens to or for all of us, and it can be a blessing as God moves us on to a new purpose for living.

    Know that you will always be in our thoughts and prayers, and that God will direct your steps as doors open, and others may close.

    I Corinthians 15:58 Therefore, my beloved brethren, be ye steadfast, unmovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, for as much as ye know that your labor is not in vain in the Lord.

    We will miss you Gwen in this position that you have held. I’ll never forget the first day I met you at the curriculum fair. You were full of smiles, and so excited about the course that you had so beautifully written. I will always thank God for you, and I hope that we will see you again. Please let us know what you will be doing, once you know what that will be.

    Much blessing and peace dear friend,

    Susie, for Scott, and Timmy also.

  2. *tears*!

    Love you Gwen!

    Thank you for all you have done over the years. I greatly appreciate your wisdom, knowledge, and grace you’ve shown me and my family over these past few years. May God bless you as you embark on this new journey!!

    Hugs,

    Courtney

    On Sun, Jun 26, 2016 at 9:53 PM, Philadelphia Homeschool wrote:

    > gwenfredette posted: “Dear Fellow Homeschoolers, Many of you know this has > been my last year homeschooling. God has graciously given me the privilege > of working with my children at home for the past 19 years. My youngest > will be starting high school this September and I am cu” >

  3. Thanks for all the time and energy you have poured out this past years. We have enjoyed your curriculum and Postings. God Bless, Ruth Mann

Leave a Reply

