Posted in Contests, Writing

Writing Contest Winners 2015: 5th & 6th Grades

Writing Contest Winners 2015 — 5th and 6th Grades

Congratulations to the following 5th and 6th grade winners of the “PHB” Homeschool Writing Contest!!!

1st Place: Anna, a traditional homeschooler in Grade 6 from Bellville, OH for the story entitled “The Battle of Temptation”.  Anna’s wonderful winning story is reprinted below.

2nd Place: Leona, a traditional homeschooler in Grade 6 from Rugby, ND for the story entitled “The Prophetess”.

3rd Place: Lena, a traditional homeschooler in Grade 6 from Norristown, PA  for the story entitled “Monsters Are People Too!”.

The winners have been notified and will be receiving their prizes from the sponsors shortly.

Special thanks to all the students who participated!  You did a fantastic job!  We can tell that you all worked very hard.

Special thanks to the following Sponsors who helped make this contest possible:

Special thanks also to the panel of judges who worked to select the winners:

  • Rosario Cintron
  • Theresa George
  • Pam Halter
  • Kim Kremer
  • Michelle Lofton

As promised, following is a reprint of Anna’s fantastic winning story:

“The Battle of Temptation”

“Run, Peter!” I screamed.  “Run!”  But my little brother wouldn’t move.  He just stood there, knees knocking, frozen in fear.  Slowly, the creature approached, snarling with fangs bared.  The crowds cheered, and the sound was louder than anything I have ever heard.  The hot sand of the stadium floor burned my feet.  But it didn’t hurt as much as what would come.

The lion approached cautiously; it almost looked as though he were hesitant, but I knew better.  The Romans would starve the lions, then would turn them loose on Christians in the arena.

The crowd broke out in cheers again as the lion crouched, like a kitten ready to pounce on its prey.

“Run!”  I yelled. “Move!”

My brother appeared as though he had not heard me.  Then, the lion leaped.  I shut my eyes.  I didn’t want to see the scene which was about to play out.  In fact, I didn’t want anything like this to happen.  If there was such a thing as “Pax Romana”, or Roman peace, was I, Ruth, not included?  Was Peter not included?

A scream broke through the air; like a sword it pierced my heart.  I forced my eyes to open, and about gagged at the sight.  The blood everywhere was enough to make anyone gag.  His body lay on the sand and the lion stood triumphantly over him.  The crowd shouted and cheered and my heart split with grief.  The lion’s shaggy mane and thin body shook with a roar that was loud.  Together, the crowd, lion, and the beating of my heart was deafening.

The lion then turned toward me.  Clearly, he was finished with Peter.  The red walls of the stadium were too high for me to climb, and above it were the crowds of Romans.  I was going to die for my faith.  It was inevitable.

Actually, no, I didn’t have to die.  I could go to the Roman guard and tell him I would renounce my Christian faith.  There was a way out of this!

The lion crept forward on silent paws.  I backed up.   My tattered dress, which was the color of undyed wool, was already stained with dirt and sweat.  My hear thudded against my chest, it seemed as though it would burst through my body.  Just go to the guard.  A voice inside me whispered.  You don’t have to die.  You have got days ahead of you if you just over the to the guard and tell him you don’t want to be a Christian.  You can finish growing up, forget about this whole debacle, live a long life, get married, and have children.  It doesn’t have to end like this!  But then a stronger voice inside of me spoke up.

I straightened up, threw back my shoulders, and looked the lion in the eyes.  I knew there was only a step between me and death, but I was not giving into temptation.

“Jesus is my King.”  I shouted, though I doubt if even the lion heard me.  Even if the Romans’ version of peace was faulty, Jesus’ peace was not.

The lion crouched.  It was clear he was tired of waiting.  I threw back my arms, as though welcoming him to kill me.

Then, the lion did what God created his kind to do — pounce.  He jumped and tackled me, pinning me to the ground.  His claws, which gleamed like knives, tore my skin and sunk into my flesh.  A scream ripped though my throat and launched out of my mouth.  It seemed impossible to have held it back.  The lion’s teeth drove themselves into me.  I saw blood gush from my arm, or, maybe it wasn’t my arm, for the blood covered my whole body.  The lion snarled in victory.  I cringed as a sharp pain like a double-edged sword shot through my body.  It vibrated and ricocheted.

I gasped.  My head began to feel light, yet cloudy with pain.  A storm, which is the best description of the pain I was experiencing, raged through my body.  My eyes started to flicker, and I was grateful that the pain was about over, but I had one more thing to say.

Mustering up all the strength I had, I spoke. “God, forgive me.  Forgive them.”  I paused.   Something was missing.  Suddenly, it struck me and became as real as the pain I felt.  “Jesus is my king.” I whispered.  Something roared.  Whether it was the crowd, or the lion I know not.  But it didn’t matter.  I had fought a battle of temptation and I was victorious.  Then, everything went black.

THE END

Posted by Gwen Fredette on December 16th, 2015

 

One thought on “Writing Contest Winners 2015: 5th & 6th Grades

Leave a Reply

