Posted in Contests, Homeschool Encouragement and Support, Writing

Remembering …

Remembering …

 

Psalm 77:11 “I will remember the deeds of the Lord; yes, I will remember your miracles of long ago.”

Pregnancy was never easy for me.  I always had “morning sickness” the first three months.  Unfortunately my “morning sickness” tended to stretch well into the afternoons and evenings.  The last three months were also difficult for me.  Besides waddling like a duck and basically feeling constantly exhausted, I had terrible heartburn.  The heartburn would often leave me feeling quite nauseous.  The result was that I spent a good six months of each pregnancy feeling rather sick to my stomach.

When we lived in our old house in Kensington, I used to have Bible studies at my house once a week for the girls on the block.  I loved having the kids over each week, but it wasn’t easy.  My oldest daughter was a toddler and it was hard trying to keep her happy while I was teaching the kids.  My son was a baby and needed attention.  Frequently there was conflict between two of the girls who came over, and on top of all that I was pregnant with my third child and feeling quite sick.

One particular Bible study day I was feeling more nauseous than usual all day long.  I kept thinking about what a chore it would be to have the kids over for the Bible lesson that day, and I came very close to cancelling it.  Somehow God’s Holy Spirit kept telling me “have them over anyway.”

I remember going through the Bible lesson, but my heart wasn’t in it.  I kept thinking to myself, “I feel so sick.  I feel so sick.”  Finally we came to the end of the lesson and one of the girls raised her hand.  She said, “I want to be sure that I go to heaven.  How can I be sure?  Will you pray for me?”  A few of the other girls piped up and said the same thing.  By God’s amazing power that day, He enabled me to clearly share the gospel.  Several of the girls then prayed the “Sinner’s prayer” and asked Jesus to come into their hearts, to be their Lord and Savior.

After we prayed, I sent the girls home, ran to the kitchen trash can, and vomited.

Why do I bring all of this up?  That powerful day of my life is a regular reminder to me of how in my weakness, He is strong, and if I had given up and not had the kids over that day, I would have missed out on being part of God’s wonderful plan for those children.

To me this is what Psalm 77 (see verse above) is all about.  The Psalmist, Asaph, was in distress.  He was troubled.  He was going through a very difficult time.  He wondered if God had forgotten him – if He had rejected him.  But then he remembered all the things God had done for him in the past – how He had done great miracles for him and the children of Israel.

Now when things look bad, or bleak, or impossible, I remember that day and other days like it when God did the impossible and showed me His amazing power.  If I think on it, He has done many “little miracles” in my life before.  I can trust that He will do mighty things again.

Child of God, are you feeling sick, lost, weary, exhausted, or totally spent?  Think back on your own life.  Has God rescued you before?  Has he done things for you or your family that seemed utterly impossible?  You can trust that He loves you and is holding you in His hand even now.  He is a God who moves mountains and makes the rough places smooth.  He has done it before; He can do it again.

Isaiah 40:4 “Every valley shall be raised up, every mountain and hill made low; the rough ground shall become level, the rugged places a plain.”

2 Corinthians 12:9 “… My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.”

John 16:33 “In this world you will have trouble.  But take heart! I have overcome the world.”

All scripture taken from NIV (New International Version)

Copyright November 9th, 2011 and then again on November 19th, 2015 by Gwen Fredette

Leave a Reply

