Posted in Homeschool Encouragement and Support

Mission Impossible

Mission Impossible

Jonah 1:1- 3  “The word of the Lord came to Jonah … ‘Go to the great city of Ninevah …’ But Jonah ran away from the Lord and headed for Tarshish.”

I have a bit of a strong-willed, stubborn streak.  Over the years there have been many things I’ve told God I would not do.   Some of which have been the following:

  • I will NOT become a Christian
  • I will NOT live in the city
  • I will NOT homeschool my children

I think the Lord takes a certain pleasure in redirecting me when I am stubborn with Him or when he’s called me to do something I really DO NOT want to do.  I can stomp my feet, make a fuss, and argue all I want, but I really have no choice in the matter.  When I became a Christian I pledged him my whole life and promised I would not live for myself any longer.  So when the Lord tells me to do something, eventually ….. I end up doing it.

Because of my stubborn streak, I’ve always been drawn to the book of Jonah.  I can definitely relate!

Here in the beginning of the book of Jonah we see God has called Jonah to go on an impossible mission.  He needs to preach against the great city of Ninevah.  The people of this city were known for their violence and cruelty.  According to notes in my Bible, Ninevah was a large city in Assyria.  The Assyrians left monuments boasting of the torture and slaughter of those who opposed them.  No wonder Jonah didn’t want to go!  I imagine his thoughts may have been these:

  • This mission is too difficult, Lord.  It’s too big, too much for me.
  • I’m scared.  I can’t handle it.
  • I’m not qualified.  I’m not from that city.  Those people will not want to listen to a Jewish prophet.
  • What if I go there and preaching doesn’t work?  Nothing will change.  It will be a waste of my time, energy, and money.
  • I have a better idea, Lord.  I’m going in a different direction.  It’s safer; it’s easier; and it’s way less stressful.

In short, Jonah told God, “This mission’s impossible.  I’m not doing it.”

He sounds a lot like me!  In my stubbornness, over the years I’ve learned again and again from trial and error that when I’ve told God, “I will not!”, He always answers gently but firmly, “Yes, you will.”

Jonah’s reasons were logical ones.  They were good ones.  Nevertheless, the results of his decisions were disastrous because they were against God’s will.  Caught in a terrible storm, thrown overboard with thoughts that he would drown, swallowed by a great sea creature, stress from living for 3 days and 3 nights within its belly.  Time was wasted because he went in the wrong direction.

Child of God, has the Lord been presenting the idea of homeschooling to you?  Perhaps your reasons are similar to Jonah’s:

  • This mission is too difficult, Lord.  It’s too big, too much for me.
  • I’m scared I can’t handle it.
  • I’m not qualified.  I’ve never taught before.  I don’t have a teaching degree.
  • What if I try it and it doesn’t work?  What a waste of time, energy, and money.
  • I have a better idea, Lord.  I’ll just send my child to “such and such” a school.  It’s safer; it’s easier, and it’s way less stressful!

Child of God, if God is calling you to homeschool, going in a different direction with your child’s education will not bring the results you’re hoping for.  Jonah was stubborn, but God, in His grace,  turned him around.  He eventually went to Ninevah.  It was hard work, preaching as he walked through that city.  But the results were amazing!  The entire city repented.

Similarly, each time I have told God, “I will not”, in His grace he has turned me around.  My life is so rich and meaningful since I became a Christian!  Moving to Philadelphia has been one of the best things we’ve ever done.  And though homeschooling was not something I ever wanted to do, God has used education at home to pour His blessings upon us and to draw each member of our family into a more intimate relationship with Him than we would have ever had otherwise.

Child of God, is God calling you to homeschool?  The mission isn’t impossible.  The Lord of the universe will walk you through every step of way.  And just as the results of Jonah’s obedience brought great and wonderful change to the city of Ninevah, God may be planning for beautiful changes in your home as well.

Luke 1:37 “For nothing is impossible with God.”

Matthew 11:30 “For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

Psalm 127:1 – 2 “Unless the LORD builds the house, the builders labor in vain. Unless the LORD watches over the city, the guards stand watch in vain.  In vain you rise early and stay up late ….

Matthew 21: 28 – 31 Beautiful passage about doing God’s will.

Copyright July 11th, 2014 by Gwen Fredette

Scripture taken from New International Version and New Living Translation

 

 

Leave a Reply

