Posted in Homeschool Encouragement and Support

Year-End Reflection

Year-End Reflection

Whew!  It’s such a relief to be near the end of the school year, isn’t it?  I find that the end of the year is a great time for me to reflect on what God has done in my life and my children’s lives – to think on areas we’ve succeeded and areas we still need to improve.  Following are some great questions to ask yourself and your family members about your homeschool experience this past year.  I’ve also listed some ideas to help celebrate fantastic accomplishments.

Christian Living:

  • Did I make time with God a priority for myself this year?
  • Did I make Bible/worship time with my kids a priority?
  • What character qualities have I grown in?  (Examples: wisdom, patience, diligence, leadership, encouragement, perseverance, etc.)  In what areas do I need to improve the most?
  • In what character qualities have I seen my children grow?
  • In what ways have I seen myself grow spiritually this year?
  • In what ways have I seen my children grow spiritually?

Relationships:

  • Do I have other homeschool moms I can connect with and pray with on a regular basis?
  • Did I spend enough time with each of my children this year?
  • Did I spend enough time with my husband this year?
  • Has my husband or any of my children felt neglected?
  • In what ways would my husband like to see me grow?
  • Are my children getting along better with each other?  If not, what can I do to improve these relationships?

Teaching & Academics:

  • What subjects did I teach especially well this year?
  • What subjects did I neglect a bit?
  • What would my children say was their favorite subject(s)?  Why?
  • In what area of homeschooling did I improve the most?
  • In what subject has my child improved the most since the beginning of the year?
  • In what ways am I gifted as a teacher to my children?
  • In what ways are my children gifted as students?
  • Have my children been challenged enough this year?
  • Have I pressed my children too hard (academically)?

Time, Organization, & Extra Activities:

  • Did I provide enough extra-curricular activities for my child(ren) this year?
  • Was my schedule too full this year?  If so, what can I eliminate next year?
  • Did I keep up with my paperwork and logging throughout the year?  If not, do I have a plan to make record keeping easier next year?
  • Did my children and I get enough physical activity this year?
  • Did I take too many breaks?
  • Did my children and I have enough breaks throughout the year?
  • Did I keep up with the house and laundry this year?  What would my husband say?
  • Did I provide good, healthy meals for my family throughout the year?

Year End Ideas:

Many public and Christian schools have award ceremonies at the end of the year.  Kids get certificates or ribbons honoring them for their accomplishments in English, Math, Science, Phys Ed, Music, Art, etc.  A few years ago a friend of mine suggested that we have an award ceremony for our homeschool children at the end of the year.  She suggested that we also honor our children for character qualities they’ve grown in.  I love this idea!   Has your child been more diligent with his assignments?    That’s worth celebrating!  Has your child been a great friend to others?  That’s worth celebrating too!  Click here: Certificate 1 and here: Certificate 2 for some free blank certificates.

Following are some examples of character qualities to celebrate:

  • Leadership
  • Diligence
  • Patience
  • Sharing
  • Peacemaker
  • Encouragement
  • Perseverance
  • Wisdom
  • Merciful
  • Integrity
  • Great Listener
  • Great Friend
  • Great Helper
  • Cheerfulness

Child of God, the questions listed above are not meant to tear you down, but to spur you on to all that God has called you to be!  I have been homeschooling for 11 years now, and I still see many things about myself, my walk with Christ, my teaching methods, my relationships, and my (lack of) organization that need to improve.  I’m so thankful to serve a God who is merciful and forgiving, who continues to work in and through me.

Consider the following verses:

Hebrews 10:24  “And let us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds.”

Joshua 1:9b  “Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.”

2 Chronicles 15:7  “But as for you, be strong and do not give up, for your work will be rewarded.”

Matthew 25:21  “His master replied, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant! You have been faithful with a few things; I will put you in charge of many things. Come and share your master’s happiness!”

Congratulations on a job well done and a homeschool year (almost) completed!  May God continue to work in and through you as you teach and guide your Precious Treasures!

Copyright May 30th, 2013 by Gwen Fredette

2 thoughts on “Year-End Reflection

  1. Thank-you Gwen! This is so well written, and very helpful as a check list to help us reflect back on the year is a wonderful tool to help us evaluate ourselves and the year! Thanks for caring about the group Gwen! You have been such an encouragement to us all year! It was so nice to get this email! Susie

Leave a Reply

