Posted in Homeschool Encouragement and Support

Extravagant Grace

Extravagant Grace

It was about this time last year that my kids were outside on the sidewalk playing.  My two sons were playing catch.  I was in the kitchen cooking.

My younger son, “The Captain”, missed the ball that was thrown to him and ran into the street to get it.

He didn’t look first.

In the kitchen I heard a squeal of breaks, but didn’t think much of it until my younger daughter came running into the house.  “Mom, mom!  Come quick!”

I went running to the door.  The mailman and my oldest son were walking “The Captain” up the front stairs and got to the door just as I did.  The mailman, who had seen everything, explained to me that “The Captain” nearly got hit by a car driving up the street.  The car was going faster than it should have been.  The driver had slammed on his brakes and just missed hitting him.

My son was upset, shaking, and afraid, but thankfully, okay.

I don’t know how many times we’ve told our kids not to run into the street — that they always need to look first before crossing.  “The Captain” was 9 years old at the time.  He should have known better; he did know better.  But kids make mistakes, and this one nearly cost him his life — except for God’s Grace.

It is by God’s Grace that he is still with us today.

About 7 years ago I was visiting with a friend of mine.  We were chatting in her kitchen.  My kids were playing with her kids in her backyard.  The family has a great big tree in their yard and my older son, “The Panther”, was having a great time climbing it.

Suddenly my oldest daughter came running in the house.  “Mom, Mom!  “The Panther” fell out of the tree and landed on his back!  He’s crying, and he says he can’t move.”

My friend and I raced outside.  There was “The Panther”, lying beneath the tree, with a huge tree root underneath him.  My first thought was, “he’s broken his back; he’s paralyzed.”  I went up to him, knelt down next to him, talked to him, and prayed for him.

He should have known better than to climb that high in the tree; he did know better.  But kids make mistakes and his fingers slipped.  But by God’s Grace, today he is outside 3 – 4 times a week running laps.

How fragile our lives are!  But how extravagant, powerful, and glorious is His Grace!

I can look back at those moments and know for sure that He is there, that He always has been there, watching over our family, being our Shield and Protector.

But the truth is, He is there in the little moments as well:

  • In the hectic homeschool day full of activity.
  • In the days full of bickering and squabbling.
  • In the days nothing is accomplished.
  • In the days I do not plan well.
  • In the days my mind is elsewhere.
  • In the days I am short-tempered.
  • In the days I have a bad attitude.
  • In the days I have an extremely bad attitude.
  • In the days I feel stressed, tired, or overwhelmed.

His powerful Grace, His loving arms uphold me daily, uphold my husband and children daily.  His forgiveness is poured out daily!  Even when I don’t see Him moving quite so plainly, He is there.

How has God been gracious to you today?

Psalm 139:9 – 10  “If I rise on the wings of the dawn, if I settle on the far side of the sea, even there your hand will guide me, your right hand will hold me fast.”

Psalm 3:3 – 4 “But you are a shield around me, O Lord; you bestow glory on me and lift up my head.  To the Lord I cry aloud, and he answers me from his holy hill.”

Galatians 2:21 “I do not set aside the grace of God, for if righteousness could be gained through the law, Christ died for nothing!”

Ephesians 2:4 – 5 “But because of his great love for us, God, who is rich in mercy, made us alive in Christ even when we were dead in transgressions — it is by grace you have been saved.”

Copyright March 18th, 2013 by Gwen Fredette

All Scripture taken from NIV (New International Version)

2 thoughts on “Extravagant Grace

Leave a Reply

