Posted in Contests

Writing Contest Winners — 5th and 6th Grades

Writing Contest Winners — 5th and 6th Grades

Congratulations to the following 5th and 6th grade winners of the “PHB” Homeschool Writing Contest!!!

1st Place: Stephanie, a traditional homeschooler in Grade 6 from Evansville, IN, for the story entitled “Kittens in the Closet”.                                           Stephanie’s wonderful winning story is reprinted below!

2nd Place: Leah, a traditional homeschooler in Grade 5 from Plainfield, IL, for the story entitled “An Accidental Apprehension”.

3rd Place: Josiah,a virtual charter school homeschooler in Grade 5 from Philadelphia, PA, for the story entitled “Cure for Kay”.

The winners have been notified and will be receiving their prizes from the sponsors shortly.

Special thanks to all the students who participated!  You did a fantastic job!  We can tell that you all worked very hard.  I hope to host more writing contests in the future.  Please try again!

Special thanks to the following Sponsors who helped make this contest possible:

Special thanks also to the panel of judges who helped me select the winners:

As promised, following is a reprint of Stephanie’s fantastic winning story:

“Kittens in the Closet”

I know I shouldn’t have been snooping in my cousin’s room, but I couldn’t believe it when I found kittens hidden in the closet.

“Kittens!” I exclaimed.  I was shocked.  There were four kittens tumbling over each other and meowing for milk.  Four tiny bundles of fuzz looked up at me.  I knelt down and stroked the mother, a beautiful sleek calico.

“Where did you come from?” I questioned.  She purred loudly in reply.  She was in a cozy box lined with newspaper, perfect for giving birth.

“What do you think you are doing?” a voice suddenly asked.  I jumped up and whirled around to find the angry face of Ashley my cousin in front of me.

“I heard a noise coming from the closet,” I stuttered.

“You shouldn’t have been snooping, Amy!” she accused as she bent over and put back in the curious kitten that had advanced over the boundaries of the box.

“Do your parents know about them?” I asked.

“No,” she replied bluntly.  The mother cat stood up and rubbed herself on Ashley’s legs.  “I’ve always wanted a cat, but my parents don’t want a stinky litter box in the house.  I told them there are such things as outdoor cats,” she announced.

I knew how she felt since I’ve always wanted a pony, but my parents explained Santa couldn’t fit a pony through the chimney.  “I know you want to keep them, but you need to tell your parents,” I began.

“Look, just because you are here for the summer doesn’t mean you can control my life.  I found the cat, and the next thing I know she had kittens,” Ashley retorted.

“Either you tell them, or I will,” I firmly stated.

“I’m not ready to give them up,” she insisted.

I knew she was not going to budge.  “Have you named them yet?” I asked, trying to break the tension.

She nodded.  “Eenie, Meenie, Miney, and my favorite Moe.  Moe is the runt,” she replied.   “The mom is Queen Sheba,” she added.

Aunt Lisa’s voice interrupted our discussion.  “Time for dinner,” she called.

“Time for dinner,” I repeated.  Ashley walked out without speaking a word.  At the dinner table, I fiddled with my food.  For some reason, meatloaf and mashed potatoes didn’t sound yummy.  I glanced over at Ashley, who also wasn’t eating.

“Ashley and Amy are you both feeling well?” Aunt Lisa inquired.

“Yea, you haven’t touched your food,” Uncle Stephen added.

I put down my fork and declared, “Ashley has something to tell you.”  I spied Ashley who was giving me the evil eye.

“The meatloaf is good,” she confirmed.

“No, tell them Ashley,” I refuted.

She sighed and confessed, “Mom and Dad, I have been keeping a cat in my closet, and the cat had kittens.”

Aunt Lisa almost choked on a piece of meatloaf.  “What!” she exclaimed.

“Calm down, dear,” Uncle Stephen interjected.  “Does it have a collar?” he asked.

Ashley nodded.

“Ashley step over here with me.  We need to have a talk.  Amy, please retrieve the cat,” Uncle Stephen calmly stated.  As I climbed the stairs, I could hear Uncle Stephen’s serious voice talking to Ashley.

“Oh great,” I thought.  Ashley will never speak to me again.  I opened the closet door and picked up Queen Sheba, much to the kittens dismay.  “Don’t worry,” I whispered.  “I’ll bring her back,” reassuring the little ones.  When I was downstairs, I put down Queen Sheba.  Aunt Lisa was clearing the table, and Uncle Stephen was on the phone.  Ashley was on the couch.  I sat down next to her.

“Sorry, Ashley,” I apologized.  “I shouldn’t have tattled.”

“No,” she replied.  “I should have told my parents.  You did the right thing.”  She turned and stared at me.  Her mascara was smudged, and her eyes were red.

“So, are we friends again?” I inquired.

“We are friends and cousins,” Ashley agreed.  We gave each other a big hug.

“Good news kids,” Uncle Stephen emphasized.  “I found the owner, so we can take the cat and kittens over now.”

“Okay,” we chorused.  “Better wipe the mascara off your face first Ashley,” I giggled.  She playfully hit me with a pillow in response.  We soon took the cat and kittens back, and the owner was extremely glad to see them.

The rest of the summer was kind of boring.  The day before I left, I remarked to Ashley, “Hey, remember when you had a cat in your closet?” I asked.

“Yea,” she replied, “I also remember being grounded for two weeks.”

I giggled, “Well at least you got what you wished for.”

“I sure did,” Ashley replied.  “Here Moe,” she called.   The little kitten bounded over to us and tumbled at our feet.

“That was a funny experience.  You should write a story about it,” Ashley suggested.

“Maybe I will,” I replied, raising my eyebrows.

The End.

This story has been reprinted with the permission of Stephanie and her family.

To read the winning story from the 7th and 8th grade category, please click HERE.

To read the winning story from the 3rd and 4th grade category, please click HERE.

Posted by Gwen Fredette, December 6th, 2012

Leave a Reply

