Posted in Prayer

A Specific Prayer for Each Child

A Specific Prayer for Each Child

Have you ever noticed how significant names are in the Bible?  God uses many names to describe Himself.  These names are important because they are expressing God’s character.  They are to be reminders of what He is like, what He does, and why we can trust Him.

Names of God the Father: Almighty, I am, Jehovah-Nissi (The Lord is my Banner), Jehovah Jireh (The Lord is my Provider), Jehovah Shalom (The Lord is my Peace), Creator, Gardener, King of Kings, Lord of Lords, Lord of Hosts, Jealous, Prince of Peace, Ancient of Days, Master, Mighty God, Father, Holy, & Good.

Names of Jesus:  Son of David, The Way, The Truth, The Life, The Branch, The Vine, The Good Shepherd, The Bread of Life, The Lamb, Messiah, Redeemer, Light of the World, Bright Morning Star, Emmanuel, The Word of God, Alpha & Omega, Son of Man, & Son of God.

God does not just ascribe names of significance to Himself and His Son.  He also gives them to His servants and prophets.

Biblical Names:  Adam (man), Abraham (Father of many nations), Isaac (he laughs), Jacob (he deceives), David (beloved one), Solomon (peaceful man), & John (God is gracious).

In each of these cases, the names of the individuals carry an important meaning describing each person’s character.

God loves our children so much more than we do!  He has great plans for their future and knows their deepest thoughts, most difficult struggles, and how He wants their character to develop — to be young men and women of shining faith and integrity.

Our Children’s Names:  I bring this up to say that I believe the names we’ve given our children are very important to God, and a specific prayer for each of our children can be the prayer of his or her name.  For example, if a child’s name is Justis (one who upholds moral fairness), a specific prayer could be that the child would grow to make wise decisions for himself and for others.  If a child’s name is Rose (a flower), a specific prayer could be that just as a flower always faces the sun, that this child would always strive to look to the Son in all that she says and does.  If a child’s name is Alex (defender of mankind), a specific prayer could be that this child would strive to stand up for and defend those who aren’t able to defend themselves.

A Name Without Meaning:  For a brief time my husband and I had a young person from our church stay with us.  She was going through a rough time and I asked the Lord how I could pray for her.  I looked up her name to find its meaning and it wasn’t listed.  The name had been one her mother had made up.  I said, “Lord, what can I pray for her?  Her name has no meaning.”  After praying God impressed on my heart that that was exactly how this young lady was feeling — like her life had no meaning.  Because God is in the business of turning things around I began to pray that even though she may feel like her life was empty and meaningless, that she would begin to see how God longed to pour meaning and purpose into her life as she sought Him.  When I shared these thoughts and prayers with her, she began to cry and confessed that that was exactly how she was feeling!  The Lord works in wonderful ways!

I love to see how God works!  We have four beautiful children with four wonderful, meaningful names.  Already I see the Lord developing character qualities in them that match their namesakes.  I look forward to seeing how God will continue to shape their character, reflecting the names that they’ve been given for His Glory.

Would you like to know what your name means?  What your child’s name means?  Click on this link to find the meanings of thousands of names:

http://www.quickbabynames.com/meaning/index.php?page=search&stype=any&s_res=GO&cid=0&f_title=aa&stype_f_title=bg&x=17&y=9

Another post I’ve written on prayer: https://phillyhomeschool.wordpress.com/2011/08/04/3-important-prayers-for-our-children/

Psalm 34:3 “Glorify the LORD with me; let us exalt his name together.”

Copyright June 19, 2012 by Gwen Fredette

Scripture taken from NIV (New International Version)

4 thoughts on “A Specific Prayer for Each Child

  1. Gwen, thank you so much for this article! I was just asking the Lord recently to show me how to pray for my kids and for me to be more strategic about my prayers for them. You reminded me to pray the meanings of their names that God would continue to develop their character.

  2. This is so true. Names are so important! That is one reason why I would never recommend just choosing a name because it is popular, or in the name book, or it just sounds great. When each of our children was born, we chose a Scripture passage and a hymn or spiritual song that went along with the meaning of their names. Then later on, we assigned each one a section of Psalms 119 as well. I am still amazed that although we started in the middle, because our oldest child’s birth verses were there, and continued on with each child, my last child got the last section of the chapter. If we would have had one more, we would have had to go back to the beginning again!

Leave a Reply

