Posted in Homeschool Encouragement and Support

You put a Lego WHERE?

My second daughter is my wild one.  When I say wild, I don’t mean she’s unruly, disrespectful, or mischievous, and I don’t mean crazy hairdos and body piercing.  I mean that of my four children, she has the biggest imagination.

She was the one who fainted regularly when she was 2.  Not because she was sick, but because, as the doctor told me, “you have a very dramatic 2-year old.”  She was the one who cut her own hair when she was 3 (with not-so-beautiful results!)

When it comes to art, she is the child who draws ballerinas dancing with dragons.  She draws people dressed in monster costumes.  She creates scenes of people stepping in puddles, slipping, and falling, and she draws pictures of confused hamsters peeing on their owners.

When it comes to sports, she can climb higher than any boy I know.  In the midst of making diving saves while playing goalie in soccer, she will stop, look at the spectators, and make some ridiculous expression to make the audience laugh (and still manage to play soccer rather well, in my opinion.)

She is the one with a repertoire of facial expressions and a name for each one.  She has created her own vocabulary for common occurrences around the house and has the rest of the children using the words that she’s made up.  She is also the one who insists we take pictures of her doing ridiculous things, and then mails them to our church’s missionaries in France.

The list of silly things she says and does is quite long, but I think that the funniest thing she ever did happened when she was five:

I came in from the kitchen and found her sitting very still on the couch.  Her eyes were very big, and she looked alarmed.

ME:  “What’s the matter?”

HER:   “I stuck a Lego up my nose.”

ME:   “No you didn’t.”

HER:  “Yes, I did.”

I grabbed a flashlight and looked up her nose.  I couldn’t see anything.

ME: “What color was it?”

HER: “Black.”

ME: (Sigh)

HER:  (Her eyes got bigger and looked more alarmed, if that were possible.)

ME:  “Was it one of those teeny, tiny pieces?”

HER:  “Yes.”

ME:  (Sigh.) “Why did you put a Lego up your nose?”

HER:  “Because I thought it would come out.”

I was determined not to have a $100 emergency room copayment for a Lego.  Fortunately my husband was home.  He held the flashlight.  I grabbed the tweezers, and after a good 20 minutes of me tweezing, her blowing her nose, and my husband lighting the way, I was able to grab the little thing and pull it out.

We were a bit worried at the time, but it’s fun to laugh about now.  In fact, most of the funny things we laugh about come from something one of our 4 kids has said or done.

Yes, the homeschool home is busier.  Yes, the homeschool home is louder.  Absolutely, the homeschool home is messier.  Yes, there is drama, but there is also comedy.  I continue to thank God for giving us so many ridiculous memories that we can laugh about for years to come.

Do you have your own funny story you’d like to share?  Feel free to leave it in the comments section of this blog!

Proverbs 17:22a “A cheerful heart is good medicine.”

Proverbs 23:25 “May your father and mother be glad; may she who gave you birth rejoice!”

Copyright June 4, 2012 by Gwen Fredette

All scripture taken from NIV (New International Version)

3 thoughts on “You put a Lego WHERE?

Leave a Reply

