Posted in Homeschool Encouragement and Support

An Apology and Anxiety

Dear Fellow Homeschoolers,

I write this post with a heavy heart because it seems that my recent post about portfolio submissions has offended some (many?) of my readers.  In light of this, I’d like to say the following:

  • I never should have included a link to the school district’s online calendar.  It was a thoughtless thing to do.  I’ve removed it from my blog, and from the flyer the school district sent me.  Please forgive me.
  • I’d like you to know that I sent an email to the school district asking them to change their online calendar to protect the privacy of homeschoolers.  My understanding is that it has now been changed.
  • My post  was worded very poorly.  Instead of saying “requiring”, I should have said, the school district is “requesting”.  I recognize that because I am putting up posts on the internet for the world to see, word choice is very important.  I’ve made these changes on my blog.  Please forgive me for this blunder as well.
  • Please know that the goal of my blog is to “Encourage and Support Homeschoolers & Homeschooling in Philadelphia.”  I want to be a blessing to homeschoolers!  I certainly do not want to upset my readers!  I hope that, overall, the content of my blog has been good, and helpful, and that those I’ve offended will find it in their hearts to forgive me.

This whole situation has really caused me quite a bit of anxiety.  I’m such a people pleaser!  I was feeling very stressed about it all day Saturday, and it consumed my thoughts.

When our family walked into church Sunday morning, worship had already started.  (Yes, we were a bit late.)  The congregation was singing this song:

“When my heart is overwhelmed,

Anxieties increase,

I will set my gaze on You,

Yeshua, Prince of Peace” *

The Lord began to melt my heart as I realized that I had been wallowing in my anxiety, rather than dwelling on His character.  We had a guest speaker at church, and what did he talk about?  How the anxieties of life can choke the Word, making it unfruitful.  What a wonderful God I serve — that He speaks to my heart about just the things I’ve been struggling with.  God loves me!  I’m His child!  He loves me despite what I’ve done and despite all the anxiety I feel.  I’m so thankful that His mercies are new every morning!

Here are a few more passages that speak to me about anxiety:

Peter walked on water when he had his eyes fixed on Jesus, but when he noticed the wind — when he began to dwell on the things around him — it was then that he began to sink.  Then the Lord reached out and caught him.   (Passage paraphrased.  Matthew 14:28 – 31)

Psalm 121: 1 “I lift my eyes to the hills — where does my help come from?  My help comes from the Lord, the Maker of heaven and earth.”

Philippians 4: 6-7 “Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.  And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

1 Peter 5:6-7 “Humble yourselves, therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that he may lift you up in due time.  Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.”

Child of God, are you feeling anxious about struggles in your own life right now?  Are you looking at the wind and the waves about you?  Are you sinking into the rough waters of worry?  God loves you and He’s promised to carry your burdens.   He will pull you from the rough waters!

May God fill you with His peace as you cast your anxieties on Him as well.

* I would like to give proper credit to the writer of this song, but I looked for him/her on the internet and I couldn’t find the writer.  If you know the author, could you let me know in the “comments” sections of this blog or email me?  Thanks!

Copyright May 8th, 2012  by Gwen Fredette

All scripture taken from NIV (New International Version)

4 thoughts on “An Apology and Anxiety

  1. gwen-
    Most certainly, you are forgiven….and are such a blesssing to us all.
    I am so grateful for you.
    much love-
    missy

  2. Thank you Gwen for your humility to post this! I am often blessed by your articles and your ability to encourage me! You are forgiven! Thank you for what you do!

  3. Thank you for your clarification. You are such a blessing to the Philly Homeschoolers. You had the right intention and that’s what counts!

Leave a Reply

