Posted in Homeschool Encouragement and Support

I Messed Up Big Time

I messed up big time.

Twice this week, actually.  Earlier this week I had a day where, quite frankly, I was just grumpy and irritable all day long.  I ended up being very rude to someone I care about very much.  Yesterday I was working on a big writing project.  I had proofread my work about 10 times and finally decided to hit “send”.  Only after I sent it did I realize I had missed a HUGE error.  When I asked myself, “how could this happen?” God gently reminded me that I forgot to ask Him to help me find the mistakes.

I’ve had other bad days like these, including: lost my temper with one or more of the kids, said something hurtful to my husband, fell terribly behind in my log work, accomplished very little schoolwork with the kids because I spent too much time chatting on the phone or on the computer, generally unpleasant to be around, rude to friends, not patient at all, big mouth, grumpy, easily angered, quick to speak – slow to listen, etc., etc., etc.

It is on days like these that I am reminded how messed up I am, and how grateful I am to have a Saviour who cleans up my messes.  When he died on Calvary, he died to cover over my rudeness, my irritability, and my lack of prayer to give me a clean slate to start over with.

Here are some verses that mean a lot to me on days like these:

Isaiah 1:18b “Though your sins are like scarlet, they shall be as white as snow;”

Job 11:13, 16-17 “Yet if you devote your heart to Him and stretch out your hands to Him …… You will surely forget your trouble, recalling it only as waters gone by.  Life will be brighter than noonday, and darkness will become like morning.”

Isaiah 53:5b “… the punishment that brought us peace was upon him, and by his wounds we are healed.”

2 Cor 1:3 -4 “Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves have received from God.”

Romans 7:24-25 “What a wretched man I am!  Who will rescue me from this body of death?  Thanks be to God – through Jesus Christ our Lord!”

Lamentations 3:22-23 “Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail.  They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.”

Child of God, may God’s redeeming power be your comfort on your bad days as well as your good, remembering his mercies are new every morning for you as well!

All Scripture taken from NIV (New International Version)

Copyright October 16th, 2011 by Gwen Fredette

2 thoughts on “I Messed Up Big Time

  1. This is exactly what women need to read on a blog about homeschooling.

    Sometimes people (like me) have messed up ideas in their heads about what a woman who homeschools looks like and acts like.

    Thanks Gwen for being REAL and applying the GOSPEL to your life, and being humble enough to share that on your blog.

    Amen!

    And thanks for the Scripture references too. Keep the posts comin!

    1. I am a work in progress. I’m so thankful that God still works in me and even uses my sinfulness to somehow bless others. He is an amazing God! So glad you enjoyed the post! – Gwen

Leave a Reply

